Rainbow Schools Virtual Library

TranslateTranslate

Google Translate Limitations Disclaimer

The electronic translation service on the Rainbow District School Board website is provided by Google Translate, a free third-party service.

Rainbow District School Board does not guarantee the accuracy, reliability, correctness or completeness of any translated information.

Translations are generated electronically and are not verified by qualified translators in the language of choice.

The translations are intended to capture the overall intent of the original material presented in English.

Before you act on translated information, please confirm any facts that are important to you or may affect any decisions you make.

Our goal in providing this tool is to make information more accessible to families whose first language is not English.

Thank you.

Databases

Databases

Databases

To search all of the databases visit the Gale Research Portal, and remember to visit your library for more help!

 

Access the Gale Research Portal

Database Updates!

You can now download documents directly into your Google Drive!  Simply click the “download” option in the toolbox to the right of the article you wish to save.

Teachers may also share resources with students through Google classroom.  In addition, the “In Context” databases are aligned to the Ontario curriculum. Teachers may choose a subject strand, browse through related articles, and upload to their classroom.

View the help sheets here:

Save to Google Drive
Visit Page
Share with Google Classroom
Visit Page

What is an online database?

Online databases are collections of academic articles, periodicals, e-books and newspapers. Having access to online databases is no different than having a well stocked library collection at your fingertips.

It is important to remember that these resources are not web pages or web sites, rather they are collections of print material which have been digitized and made available on the Internet.
They are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can be accessed from both school and home. These databases require a password when researching from home, so don’t forget to visit your library for a password list.

“Why can’t I just use Google for my research?”

This is a question we hear most often. While there is nothing wrong with using Google, there are times when searching academic databases gives you better results.

Your teacher may also require you to use scholarly articles and books and these are easiest to find in a database.
For further explanation of the difference between the Internet and a database, check out the following:
Databases vs. Internet Sources
Visit Page

Where can I get help using a database?

Searching a database is different from searching the Internet. Below are some of our most requested help sheets and video tutorials. All "In Context" databases, Canada in Context, Science in Context and Research in Context, work the same so they are grouped together below.

Remember to visit your library if you require further assistance.

Academic Onefile
Academic Onefile Video Tutorial
Visit Page
Academic Onefile User Guide
Visit Page
In Context
In Context User Guide
Visit Page
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health and Wellness Video Tutorial
Visit Page